In Office 365, when a user is deleted, his/her OneDrive will be automatically deleted after the given retention period which is by default 30 days. Only a Global Administrator or SharePoint Administrator can restore a deleted OneDrive and assign access to some other user.
All the shared content will be available as they were available before deletion of OneDrive.
Important: One Drive can be restored after 93 days of its deletion. If retention duration is 30 than a deleted OneDrive will be available for 123 days (30 days active, 93 days in recycle bin).
If you do not the url of deleted OneDrive then run below command which can return list of all deleted OneDrives.
Get-SPODeletedSite -IncludeOnlyPersonalSite | FT url
If you know the url then pass Url to Get -SPODeletedSite cmdlet which can confirm the site availability.
Get-SPODeletedSite -Identity "https://mstechtalk-my.sharepoint.com/personal/ aamin_mstechtalk_com/"
If the site is available in recycle bin, then you can follow below URL to restore it. The restoration process is very simple, just pass the OneDrive Url to Resotre-SPODeletedSite cmdlt.
Restore-SPODeletedSite -Identity https://MSTechTalk-my.sharepoint.com/personal/aamin_mstechtalk_com
You can also get an error message “Unable to find the deleted site”, there is a possibility that you have added ‘/’ at the end, just remove it and then restore OneDrive.
Latest posts by Adnan Amin (see all)
- SharePoint folder deletion error: Cannot delete/checked out issue - March 5, 2019
- Get list of all hidden lists in a SharePoint Site - February 27, 2019
- SharePoint Modern UI: Using Sites web part page - February 19, 2019